Monday, February 28, 2011

Oscars and Other Awards

It's true. I watched the Oscars last night with some friends, admiring the purple frocks and pretty people in my hometown sunshine, while I listened to the rumble of thunder outside and read from the New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics on Alliterative Verse.

Wouldn't it be fun(ny) if several industries held such grand events, red carpet, televised awards shows for third grade teachers, or fire fighters, or IRS agents, or acrobatic dogs. Oh wait, the dogs have one. But still, what if instead of America's Next Top Model, Tyra went searching for America's Next Top Poet. What if next year's reality show like Top Chef were based in a writer's workshop? It's funny to imagine what footage they could take: a writer at her desk. Close up on her pen--does she prefer ball point or felt tip?

Even though most writers don't often get to borrow diamonds and designer tuxes, we have our own glitz and glam. Our own celebrities and awards. And I'm pretty okay with the fact we don't need to walk around in five inch sparkly heels. Not that there is anything wrong with sparkles or heels.

If you got to nominate a writer for an Oscar, who would you choose? For what category? I think I'd nominate Daniel Nester (featured in 31.1) for Most Twitterrific.


Thursday, February 24, 2011

2011 Poetry Prize

Dear Readers,

There is only a month left to submit to the 2011 Indiana Review Poetry Prize. This year's contest will be judged by the brilliant Marie Howe. So please click on the link below and send your submissions.

Here is a handy stepsheet:

a) Write a poem (or up to three).
b) Go on our website and click on submissions.
c) Read guidelines.
d) Decide if you want to submit online or by mail.
d) Submit!!!
e) Pat yourself on the back for a job well done!

The winner of our contest will receive $1000 and publication in Indiana Review. In addition to being considered for publication, all entrants will receive a year's subscription. Postmark deadline is March 25, 2011.

Click for Guidelines


Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Matthew Siegel on the Bluecast

Dear readers,

For this new addition of the Indiana Review Bluecast, we are pleased to bring you Matthew Siegel reading two poems of his poems, "For Brian, 13, Who Sleeps Through Li-Young Li" and "At the Vietnamese Massage Parlor," which will be featured in issue 33.1 Summer 2011.

Listen and enjoy!


Friday, February 18, 2011


Somewhere in my internet travels, I stumbled upon this online publication of travel stories, where the interplay between prose and visual artifact is intriguing:
There’s no reason for this journal. No hidden agenda here. Nowhere is a place between places, an imagined depot for stories from the road. We collect found experiences through writing, art, video and sound then illustrate them with objects brought back from the field.

Check it out!


Monday, February 14, 2011

Bluecast: Barrie Jean Borich

We are pleased to bring you a bluecast with Barrie Jean Borich whose fantastic nonfiction essay, "Navigating Jazz" is featured in our most current issue Winter 2010, 32.2

Barrie Jean Borich is pictured above holding her issue at AWP! It's so much fun to meet our contributors at our table, which I must say, was quite attractive this year! Thanks to Michelle Sybert who designed our poster and chapbooks!

Happy Valentine's Day. Spread the Love.


Friday, February 11, 2011

Indiana Review - Where Literature Grows!

We made it to AWP and back! I had a great time handing out free previews of our summer issue, and getting out there to meet our readers and contributors. For all of you who got our complementary seed packets of Forget-Me-Not, I hope you plant them and think of the Indiana Review when they bloom.

Top Five AWP Moments

1) Meeting Hadley Moore whose story “When My Father was in Prison” will be featured in our upcoming summer issue.
2) The Gulf Coast reading.
3) The Vida reading with men reading from their favorite women writers.
4) Hanging out with my undergraduate professor Cate Marvin.
5) Partying with some of the students in the Virginia Tech MFA Program.


Thursday, February 10, 2011

First Annual Bluelight Reading Series!

Hey Poetry Peoples,

I wanted to take a second to plug a reading IR is hosting here in Bloomington on March 25th. Curtis Bauer, Erika Meitner, and Steve Scafidi will be serving as the all-star cast. I really couldn't be more excited for this. If you're in the area, you should come too. No charge. You can expect to be wowed and moved to write an onslaught of good words under your dim kitchen light when you get home. Scout's honor.




The details:

When: March 25th, 7pm
Where: IMU University Club
Who: You!

Hope to see you there,


Friday, February 4, 2011

New Issue

For your reading pleasure and inspiration, please welcome Issue 32.2! They've been available for about a month now, but if you don't have a copy already, get one!

Thursday, February 3, 2011

We made it!

Indiana braved a terrible ice storm this week, and we weren't sure if our fearless editors would be able to take off for AWP, but after a few flight delays, IR made it out to DC yesterday, just in time!