Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Blue Light Triva Contest, Round Four!

Hey all! This is Nicholae, IR's summer publicity and reviews intern, and I will be taking over for Kristina for this fourth and final trivia question.

So, in keeping with the blue theme:
What 19th century English idiom was (and still is) used to describe persons of noble birth and was originally ascribed to Spanish royalty claiming Visigoth descent?

The first person to correctly provide this expression wins a FREE copy of the 32.1 blue issue! Remember to send your answers to inreview (at) indiana (dot) edu. Good luck!


Monday, July 26, 2010

Third trivia answer revealed!

Congratulations to Nick Bruno, who was the first to answer last week's Blue Light Contest question correctly. He wins a free copy of 32.1!

Pablo Picasso is one of the most recognizable painters of the 20th century because of his inspired "periods" -- Blue, Rose, African, and Cubist.  He claimed that his Blue period was inspired by the suicide of his friend Carlos Casagemas in February 1901.

One of Picasso's most famous paintings of the period was "The Old Guitarist," pictured here.

Be sure to check back Wednesday for our fourth and last trivia question! -K

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Blue Trivia Question the Third

 As a student of literature, I greatly admire my academic cousins in Creative Writing for their seeming fecundity of ideas. It's a phenomenon that has long fascinated me, and so I based our third trivia question on the subject of inspiration.

An early 20th-century painter claimed he was inspired by the color blue after the suicide of a close friend in 1901. The first to give the name of this painter's unfortunate friend wins a FREE copy of the 32.1 Blue Issue! Remember to e-mail your answer to inreview (at) indiana (dot) edu. -K

Photo Credit

Monday, July 19, 2010

Trivia Answer to Question the Second

Congratulations to Aaron Gilbreath, who answered last week's Blue Light Contest question correctly. He wins a free copy of 32.1!

A common ingredient of blue alcoholic beverages is Blue Curacao.  This often bright blue liqueur is made from the dried skin of bitter Laraha oranges.  An offshoot of Spanish Valencia oranges, the Laraha were originally grown on the island of Curacao and are known for their sweet fragrance.

Blue Light Trivia Question the Third will be posted Wednesday!

Until then... -K

Photo Credit

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Blue Light Trivia Contest round two

Photo by moniqe

Ah, summer and its frosted drinks. If only there was a hammock in this office. I've been getting some reading done, and by the way, Hayden's Ferry Issue #46 is just wonderful.

But onwards to question number two: What is the common ingredient in blue cocktails that makes them blue?

(Hint: it's simpler than a specific food color number.) Once again, send your answer to inreview (at) indiana (dot) edu for a chance to win a free issue!


Monday, July 12, 2010

First Blue Light Trivia Answer Revealed!

Congratulations to Sinead Lykins, who answered last week’s Blue Light Contest question correctly.  She wins a FREE copy of 32.1!

McKinley Morganfield, better known as the great Muddy Waters, was world-famous for such oft-covered hits as “Hoochie Coochie Man” and “I Just Want to Make Love to You.”  He also ranked #17 in Rolling Stone's list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time and was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1987.

Waters was played pretty masterfully (in my opinion) by Jeffrey Wright in the 2008 film “Cadillac Records” -- with Mos Def as Chuck Berry.  Beyonce Knowles caught some flak for her portrayal of Etta James, but regardless, the film has merit. I recommend it to any blues lover.

Look out Wednesday for Question the Second!  Until then...  -K

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Blue Trivia Question the First

Hello all – I’m Kristina, the summer prize and contest intern here at the IR.  I’ll be bringing you the Blue Light Contest questions and answers every week.  Our first “blue” trivia question, then, is about one of my favorite subjects – the blues.

So, without further ado:

This Chicago musician once said, “My blues look so simple, so easy to do, but it's not. They say my blues is the hardest blues in the world to play."  He also helped Chuck Berry to stardom by getting him his first record contract.

The first to give this blues man’s birth name AND his famous nickname wins a FREE copy of the 32.1 Blue Issue!  Remember to e-mail your answer to inreview (at) indiana (dot) edu.  We will choose the winner based on accuracy first, then on response time.

Good luck!  -K

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Announcing the 3rd Annual Blue Light Contest

Our Summer 2010 issue has arrived, which means it's that time of year again -- time for our summer trivia contest! 

For readers who are new to the Blue Light, every Wednesday in July we post a trivia question on a certain theme.  This year's theme, in concurrence with the 32.1 Blue issue, will be (you guessed it) "Blue."

This year's contest will run from July 7th to August 2nd, with questions posed on the 7th, 14th, 21st, and 28th. Answers should be e-mailed to inreview (at) indiana (dot) edu with "Blue Light Contest" in the subject line. Winners will be determined first by accuracy and then by response time, and we'll announce the results each following Monday.  Winners receive a FREE copy of 32.1! 

Look out for the first Blue-themed trivia question tomorrow.