Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Blue Light Contest Round 4: Guess Who?

For the final round of of our July Giveway, we've turned to a photo clue.

The current Indiana Poet Laureate draws his motivation for his position from a button he received with this famous poet's image. Can you tell us who's on this button?

Quickly email your answer to inreview (at) indiana (dot) edu with "Blue Light Contest" in the subject line. The first person to correctly identify the poet will receive a FREE copy of our latest issue.

Check back Monday for the results.

Monday, July 27, 2009

Round 3 Answer Revealed!

The oft-adapted novel Brewster's Millions was written by Indiana's very own George Barr McCutchen! Did you know that not one but TWO feature films based off of his novel were made in India? Crazy!

Well folks, as all great trivia giveaways must come to an end, we'll post our final Blue Light Contest trivia question this Wednesday. As always, only the swiftest answerer will receive a totally free copy of the Indiana Review's most recent issue! Good Luck!

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Blue Light Contest Round 3: The "Millions" Dollar Question

Another Wednesday, another Blue Light Contest question! Here we go:

What is the name of the Indiana author whose 1902 novel would be adapted for the theater and silver screen nearly a dozen times, the most notable of which starred Richard Pryor and John Candy in 1985?

E-mail your answers to inreview (at) indiana (dot) edu with the subject "Blue Light Contest". The fastest correct response wins a FREE copy of our latest issue!

Check back Monday for the results.

Monday, July 20, 2009

Round 2: Answer

Welcome Back to the July Giveway Contest. Congratulations to Mary! who promptly and correctly answered last week's trivia question with the answer: who is Theodore Dreiser.

Mr. Dreiser was born in Terre Haute, Indiana and wrote novels such as Sister Carrie. Learn more about him here.

Visit again on Wednesday for the next Indiana trivia question and chance to win the latest issue of Indiana Review.

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Blue Light Contest Round 2: O brother where art thou?

Welcome back to the Blue Light Contest! Here is this week's question:

The man who composed Indiana's state song had a famous little brother with a literary bent. What was that little brother's name?

Be the first tell us by sending an email to inreview (at) indiana (dot) edu with the subject "Blue Light Contest" and you will receive a free--that's right, free!--copy of our latest issue.

Check back Monday for results.


Monday, July 13, 2009

Melanie Rae Thon

On the Bluecast, we have just posted a podcast of Melanie Rae Thon reading her story, "Seven Times Seven," which can be found in print in our Summer 2009 Issue!

Take some time to hear Ms. Thon read her story and while you are there, you can also peruse the archives and hear other fabulous writers read their work.

Thanks, Ms. Thon, for reading for us!

Round 1: The Answer!

Congratulations to Chella of Santa Barbara who answered last week's question correctly (and speedily).

The answer is James Whitcomb Riley; he went on to write a poem about one "Little Orphan Annie."

Stay tuned: this week's Question will appear on Wednesday for your chance to win your very own copy of Summer 2009 Indiana Review.

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

2009 Blue Light Contest Round 1: An Indiana Hoax

An Indiana poet, frustrated by his work being rejected from some journals, decided he would write a poem stylized after Edgar Allan Poe and say it was a long lost poem by the famed author. The poem, "Leonainie," was published in a newspaper. However, when the public found out the poem was not penned by Poe, the real author was fired from his job. Later, he went on to further fame and fortune by writing under his own name.

Be the first tell us the name of this poet by sending an email to inreview (at) indiana (dot) edu with the subject "Blue Light Contest" and you will receive a free copy of our latest issue.

Yay for contests!

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

Announcing the 2nd Annual Blue Light Contest

Hey there Blue Light readers! Those of you who've been with us for a while may remember our "Five Hump Days of Funk" contest last year. For those of you who don't remember, it went down like this: every Wednesday for the month of July, we asked a Funk trivia question and gave a free copy of issue 30.1 (that gorgeous issue with the Funk Feature) to the winner. The contest was so much fun that we're doing it again this year!

Here's this year's lowdown: the contest will run from July 8th to August 1st, with questions posed on the 8th, 15th, 22nd, and 29th. Answers should be emailed to us with the subject "Blue Light Contest." We'll announce the winner each following Monday. Winners will be determined first by accuracy and then by response time, and will receive a free (that's right, free!) copy of our latest issue: Summer 2009 31.1.

This year's theme: Indiana history and facts. Round 1 will be posted on July 8th.

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Yay Julia Story!

Congratulations to issue 31.1 contributor Julia Story, who has won the Kathryn A. Morton Prize in Poetry from Sarabande Books for her collection Post Moxie.

You can read selections from Post Moxie in the "Special Highlight on Short Short Fiction and the Prose Poem" section of our latest issue, Summer 2009 vol 31.1.

Congrats Julia!