Wednesday, July 30, 2008

Contest Five: Wednesday is the New Twos-day

Welcome back to the fifth and final funk contest! Because we didn't have a winner last week, we're going to have two winners this week. So here it is: the first two correct answers get a free copy of our Summer 2008 issue. In the spirit of doubling your funk pleasure, this one's a two-parter.

Are you ready for this?

1. What two elements did Jericho Brown want to include in his poem "All That Crawls beneath Me"?
2. What is the relationship between these two elements in the poem?

It's all about speed, people. Send your answers to inreview at indiana dot edu

Monday, July 28, 2008

As Jerry Blank would say, "I'm sad."

It seems as if we might have made last week's contest a little too hard. But you've all known your Funk so well, we really had no doubt someone would be able to answer correctly.

To make it up to you, we're going to give away two issues this Wednesday, the last contest in these Five Hump Days of Funk. The first two people with the correct answer will each get a free copy of Indiana Review 30.1 (summer 2008).

Also to make it up to you, we've posted a peace offering bluecast: Jericho Brown reading his poem "All that Crawls beneath Me," which appears in the Funk feature.

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Contest Four: Like a Funky Where's Waldo

We're back with our fourth funk contest of the month. Today's challenge: Who is this funky, funky man? (pictured at left) He appears on a funk album, can you tell us which one?

The first to email us (inreview at indiana dot edu) with the correct album name will receive a free copy of our summer 2008 issue!

As if you weren't getting enough Funk this month.

So, the Funk contest will be up a little later today, but while you're waiting, you should check this out: editor emeritus (in Kyle Dargan's words) Abdel Shakur has an interview up on Post No Ills. Dargan asks the questions, and Shakur offers some really thoughtful and interesting answers. Definitely worth a read.

Monday, July 21, 2008

Talking Book

Our third winner this month is Noah from Pittsburgh, PA who correctly identified the drummer of this song --Superstition by Stevie Wonder on the album Talking Book--as none other than Stevie Wonder himself! Not only did Wonder write, arrange and produce Talking Book, he is also credited with the vocals, guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, bass, drums, and percussion. All at 22 years old!

Noah's been looking for our Funk issue in bookstores. If you haven't been able to find us, we've got a handy dandy list the stores that carry us on our website. You can also order us online. Or you can win our next contest...

Another funk contest is just around the corner so stay tuned. Until then, please enjoy this 1972 performance of Superstition on the show that taught me how to read, Sesame Street. (Check out the kid in the red sweater rocking out, that's totally how I learned to dance!)

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

The One

We're back, with another Wednesday contest on Funk! We also have another audio clip for you (published in our Bluecast, to the right). We think you'll probably guess this tune in no time, but maybe you're not as familier with its drummer?

First person to respond with the name of the drummer wins a copy of IR summer 2008. Send your entry to inreview at indiana dot edu.

Monday, July 14, 2008

Mother Earth is pregnant for the third time.

Our next winner this month is Jesse from Elizabethtown PA. Jesse answered our first name-that-tune question correctly. The artist is Funkadelic/Parliament, and the song is "Maggot Brain." Jesse, raised on Funk, already has a copy of our summer 2008 issue and so has chosen to send the prize to someone else as a gift.

If you already have your own copy, don't let that keep you from participating in our next contest, which will be posted this Wednesday. Do what Jesse did!

Regarding the song: listen to the whole thing, folks, if you got means. It's stunning.

Wednesday, July 9, 2008

Contest Two: Name that Tune

Welcome back to our second contest in this month of Funk. Today we're asking you to name that tune--a selection is posted on our Bluecast (to the right). Please write to us (inreview at indiana dot edu) with both the name of the artist and the title of the song. First one with the right answer wins a copy of our summer 2008 issue!

(I hadn't heard this song until Abdel introduced me to it, and now it's one of my all-time favorite songs. -Jenny)

Monday, July 7, 2008

Speaking of the issue with the Funk feature...

When I fall in love with a song, I just have to hear it over and over again. I'm sure I'm not the only one. I punch that repeat button on whatever music machine is playing my song, and then just let go. There was a pretty great mix of a Kylie Minogue song years ago that I couldn't get enough of. "Come into My World," layered over a Fischerspooner track. That Andre 3000 Polaroid shaking song I loved, too. Recently, I sing along to "Kaho Na Kaho" when I get the chance ("ye anken bolti hain, o sanam o sanam"--I'm still working on it). What on Earth does this have to do with our Funk feature?

In case you missed last Wednesday's comment by Christopher, we should let you know that "Unrequite" by Stephanie Taylor, a poem featured in Indiana Review summer 2008, got some more play on Poetry Daily last Sunday, July 6.

Go on and read it already. Again and again, if you want.


Funk direct

The first winner in our series of contests this month is Brooklyn of Carmel, Indiana. Brooklyn's e-mail arrived in our inbox lightning fast with the correct answer to our question: In which 1985 movie did the Godfather of Soul, King of Funk, Hardest Working Man in Show Business, ultra-funky James Brown appear?

The answer is none only than Rocky IV. Congratulations, Brooklyn! And thanks so much to everyone else who participated in the contest. Stay tuned for another question this Wednesday, for another chance to win a free copy of the summer 2008 issue.

Wednesday, July 2, 2008

On your mark...get set...Funk!

It's giveaway time!

Question of the day:
The Godfather of Soul, King of Funk, Hardest Working Man in Show Business, ultra-funky James Brown appeared in which 1985 movie?

Be the first to email us ( with the correct answer and receive a *free* copy of our summer issue 30.1. How funky is that!

Winner will be announced Monday, July 7. Next giveaway will posted Wednesday, July 9.