Tuesday, March 27, 2012


You're now looking at our old blog! WE'VE MOVED HERE.

Thursday, August 11, 2011

2011 1/2 K Prize Winner

Photo by John Menard

Announcing our winner of the
2011 1/2 K Prize

"When You Look Away, The World"
Corey Van Landingham
Lafayette, IN

& Runner-Up:

"American Charity"
Jenny Forrester
Portland, OR

Congratulations to our contest winner, Corey Van Landingham, our runner-up, Jenny Forrester, and all of our wonderful finalists. We would like to extend our gratitude to Ander Monson, our contest judge, as well as all of our entrants. Thank you for your submissions and support. You made the 2011 Indiana Review 1/2 K Prize a success!


Monday, August 8, 2011

July Trivia Contest Answer to Question #4:

Here is the last and final answer to the last and final trivia question!

In Peter Pan, the roles that are generally played by the same actor are Captain Hook and Mr. Darling!

Unfortunately, there is no winner for the last trivia question. We hope you have enjoyed July's trivia questions and that you have all learned something you didn't before. Thanks to all who participated! Even though the contest is over it is never too late to order a copy of our latest issue 33.1!

Thursday, August 4, 2011

Hats Off!

Congratulations to Ryan Teitman and Marcus Wicker, two of Indiana Review's former poetry editors (2008-2009, and 2009-2010, respectively), who were both chosen as 2011 Ruth Lilly Fellowship finalists.

Ryan is currently a Wallace Stegner Fellow in Poetry at Stanford University. His first collection of poems, Litany for the City, was selected by Jane Hirshfield for the A. Poulin Jr. Poetry Prize, and will be published by BOA Editions in March 2012. Marcus' poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Poetry, Beloit, jubilat, Crab Orchard Review, Ninth Letter, Hayden's Ferry Review, Harpur Palate, Rattle, Sou'Wester, DIAGRAM, and cream city review, among other journals.

Wanna know the coolest thing about this double-victory? These guys are collaborators...and buddies, too. Read more here.


Wednesday, August 3, 2011

July Trivia Question #4

Last chance everyone!  Here comes the last trivia question.

Since it's stage debut in 1904, Peter Pan has kept the child alive in all of us.  From the Disney film in 1953 to the Broadway show starring Mary Martin to Steven Spielberg's Hook, the story has seen many changes. but one tradition remains honored from the debut of the play to the 2003 Peter Pan film.  Two roles are played by the same actor.  Which two roles are they?

Monday, August 1, 2011

July Trivia Contest Answer to Question #3:

It's Monday and the first day of August! However, Monday also means it's time to answer the trivia question from last week!

Here it is: In Frank Baum's novel the Emerald City is called so because of the green-tinted glasses that they are required to wear upon entering the city. They are told to wear them in order to protect their eyes from the dazzling lights of the city. The green tint makes it appear as though the whole city is green, even though not everything is.

Unfortunately, we don't have a winner this week. There will, however, be ONE last question posted later even though it is no longer July. So keep a sharp eye on our blog for your last chance to be our next winner!

Thursday, July 28, 2011

From the Blue: Contributors Read and Recommend #7

In round 7 of our contributor interview series we spoke with Hadley Moore. Hadley is a graduate of the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College. She is at work on a novel and a collection of stories.

What are you reading right now?

Michael Parker’s The Watery Part of the World. (Full disclosure—he’s one of my former teachers.)

I think the first thing I require of fiction is to be engaged, and the second is not to be distracted by lazy sentences. I can—and like to—do craft analysis, but first I have to be taken in by the story and the language. Parker’s new novel has taken me in.

What else have you been reading this summer?

I reread Denis Johnson’s Angels and Cristina Garcia’s Dreaming in Cuban because I’ve lately been fascinated by short novels (The Great Gatsby, The Hours, On Chesil Beach, The Age of Grief, A Simple Heart, and Pale Horse, Pale Rider—I see some of these are veering into the territory of the novella—are other favorites.)

"Classic" you’ve been meaning to read?

Oh, lots, but the one I’ve been thinking about lately is Ulysses. I used to be afraid of the classics, but now they’re a regular part of my reading life. Undisciplined, I would gobble up contemporary fiction, mostly novels, so I try to read in groups of six: one contemporary novel or collection, one classic, one book of poetry, one literary journal, one craft book, and one book by someone I know (these categories often overlap). I’m not perfect about it, and I do give myself a break sometimes—I went on a contemporary-fiction binge last winter after reading War and Peace, the Pevear and Volokhonsky translation—but I think my six-book rotation encourages me to think more broadly